1. Education
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

United Nations Security Council Members

Five Permanent Members and Ten Non-Permanent Members of the UN Security Council


United Nations Security Council Members

The United Nations Security Council votes to adopt a resolution imposing sanctions against North Korea June 12, 2009 in New York City.

Mario Tama/Getty Images

The United Nations Security Council consists of fifteen UN member countries.


There are five permanent UN Security Council members and ten non-permanent Security Council members. The five permanent Security Council members were the primary victors of World War II. The ten non-permanent Security Council members include two members from each of the regional groupings of UN member countries:

  • the Western European and Others Group
  • the Eastern European Group
  • Latin American and Caribbean Group
  • the Asian Group
  • the African Group

The current UN Security Council members are:


Permanent Members

  • China
  • France
  • Russia
  • United Kingdom
  • United States


Non-Permanent Members

Date indicates end of two year term for the ten non-permanent members of the United Nations Security Council. Country will be replaced by another member of the regional grouping.
  • Argentina (Dec. 31, 2014)
  • Australia (Dec. 31, 2014)
  • Chad (Dec. 31, 2015)
  • Chile (Dec. 31, 2015)
  • Jordan (Dec. 31, 2015)
  • Lithuania (Dec. 31, 2015)
  • Luxembourg (Dec. 31, 2014)
  • Nigeria (Dec. 31, 2015)
  • Rwanda (Dec. 31, 2014)
  • South Korea (Dec. 31, 2014)


2014 Members

Five United Nations member countries were approved by the General Assembly to serve two-year terms beginning on January 1, 2014, to replace the five countries that had terms ending on December 31, 2013. The five new 2014 United Nations Security Council member countries are:


  • Chad
  • Chile
  • Jordan
  • Lithuania
  • Nigeria

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.