1. Education
Send to a Friend via Email

Non-Members of the United Nations

Three Countries Are Non-Members, Depending on How You Count


United Nations members

The United Nations Security Council meets in the above photo. Three countries are not members of the United Nations

Mario Tama/Getty Images
Updated July 14, 2011
Lists of the 193 members of the United Nations are easy to locate, but how many countries are not members of the UN? Three countries out of the 196 countries of the world are not members of the United Nations.


Kosovo declared independence from Serbia on on February 17, 2008 but has not gained complete international recognition to allow it to become a member of the United Nations.


In 1971 the People's Republic of China (mainland China) replaced Taiwan (also known as the Republic of China) in the United Nations.

Vatican City / The Holy See

The independent papal state of 771 people (including the Pope) was created in 1929. They have not chosen to become part of the international organization.
Related Video
World Continents
How to Read a Map

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.