1. Education
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Warsaw Pact Countries

Member Countries of the Warsaw Pact


The Warsaw Pact was established in 1955 to counter the threat from the NATO countries. It was made up of Central and Eastern European Countries. It dissolved at the end of the Cold War in 1991.

The members of the Warsaw Pact were:

  • Soviet Union
  • Albania (until 1968)
  • Bulgaria
  • Czechoslovakia
  • East Germany (until 1990)
  • Hungary
  • Poland
  • Romania

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.