1. Education

U.S. Time Zone Map

Map of the Four U.S. Time Zones in the Conterminous United States


The conterminous United States is composed of four time zones - Eastern, Central, Mountain, and Pacific. Each county is assigned to one of the four time zones.
U.S. Time Zone Map

Click the U.S. time zone map for a larger version of the map that will enable you to see county lines more clearly.

Matt Rosenberg/About.com
The four time zones of the 48 conterminous United States (boundaries are indicated by the red line). County boundaries are shown in gray and state boundaries are dark blue.

Most of Alaska is in the Alaskan Time Zone but a portion of the Aleutian Islands are in the Hawaii-Aleutian Time Zone. Alaskan time is one time zone west (behind) Pacific Time. Hawaii is two time zones west of Pacific Time (however, Hawaii does not use Daylight Saving Time so during Daylight Saving Time, it is three hours behind Pacific Time.

Arizona, while it is in the Mountain Time Zone, also does not utilize Daylight Saving Time. The portions of Indiana in the Eastern Time Zone previously did not observe Daylight Saving Time. Visit the What time is it in Indiana? site for more information about Indiana's interesting time zone history.

Learn more about Time and Time Zones here on Geography at About.com.

  1. About.com
  2. Education
  3. Geography

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.