1. Education
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.


The Union of Soviet Socialist Republics


The Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (also known as the USSR or Soviet Union for short) consisted of Russia and surrounding countries that today make up Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Estonia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.

The USSR was founded in 1922, five years after the Russian Revolution overthrew the monarchy of the czar, and was dissolved in late 1991.

The Commonwealth of Independent States was a somewhat unsuccessful effort by Russia to keep the USSR together in an economic alliance.

Of the fifteen constituent republics of the USSR, three of these countries declared and were granted independence a few months preceding the fall of the Soviet Union in 1991. The remaining twelve did not become independent until the USSR fell completely on December 26, 1991.

  1. Armenia
  2. Azerbaijan
  3. Belarus
  4. Estonia (September 1991)
  5. Georgia
  6. Kazakhstan
  7. Kyrgyzstan
  8. Latvia (September 1991)
  9. Lithuania (September 1991)
  10. Moldova
  11. Russia
  12. Tajikistan
  13. Turkmenistan
  14. Ukraine
  15. Uzbekistan
  1. About.com
  2. Education
  3. Geography
  4. Maps
  5. Atlas
  6. Russia Maps
  7. USSR: Overview of Union of Soviet Socialist Republics

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.