1. Education

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

How many provinces are now in South Africa?

In 1994, South Africa transformed its four provinces of Cape Provine, Natal, Orange Free State, and Transvaal into nine provinces based on the homelands of indigenous people. The nine provinces are Eastern Cape, Free State, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Mpumalanga, North-West, Northern Cape, Northern Province, and Western Cape.


Geography FAQ Home | Geography Home Page

Subscribe to the Newsletter

©2017 About.com. All rights reserved.