1. Education

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Most Emailed Articles

Now We Can Begin

What is the Russian Federation?

The official name of Russia is the Russian Federation, which is composed of 21 autonomous republics, 10 autonomous okrugs, 6 krays, 2 federal cities (Moscow and St. Petersburg), and 1 autonomous oblast (Yevreyskaya).

The Russian Federation was the largest successor state of the Soviet Union and inherited 76% of the U.S.S.R.'s land.


Geography FAQ Home | Geography Home Page

Subscribe to the Newsletter

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

©2015 About.com. All rights reserved.