1. Education

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Which counties and boroughs make up New York City?

New York City is made up of five boroughs which are coextensive with five counties. The Bronx (which is Bronx County), Brooklyn (Kings County), Manhattan (New York County), Queens (Queens County), and Staten Island (Richmond County).

The largest borough/county in area is Queens at 108 square miles (280 km2) and Brooklyn/Kings is the largest in population with 2.3 million people as of the 1990 census.


Geography FAQ Home | Geography Home Page

Subscribe to the Newsletter

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.