1. Education

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

What are the four main islands of Japan?

Japan's "mainland" consists of four primary islands: Hokkaido, Honshu, Shikoku, and Kyushu.

Hokkaido is in the northeast and the home of the island's capital city of Sapporo.

Honshu is the largest island and the Japanese core area which includes Tokyo and Osaka-Kyoto. Honshu is the world's seventh largest island.

Shikoku and Kyushu are in the south (Kyushu is in the extreme southwest and Shikoku is to its east).

Besides these four islands, Japan includes 2,000 additional smaller islands.


Geography FAQ Home | Geography Home Page

Subscribe to the Newsletter

See More About

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.