1. Education

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

What is the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)?

The Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) is an alliance of 12 of the 15 former Republics of the Soviet Union (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldava, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan).

The headquarters of the organization is in Minsk, Belarus. The three non-members are Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania.


Geography FAQ Home | Geography Home Page

Subscribe to the Newsletter

Matt Rosenberg
About.com Geography

©2017 About.com. All rights reserved.