1. Education

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Where are the Balkan States?

The countries lying on the Balkan Peninsula are often called the Balkan States. These include Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Greece, Macedonia, Romania, Slovenia, and Yugoslavia (Serbia and Montenegro). The small portion of Turkey that lies northwest of the Sea of Marmara is also on the Balkan Peninsula.

The Balkan Peninsula lies between the Adriatic Sea and the Black Sea.

Don't confuse the Balkan States with the Baltic States.


Geography FAQ Home | Geography Home Page

Subscribe to the Newsletter

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.