1. Education

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

What's the difference between North, Latin, Central, Middle, South, Spanish and Anglo America?

It's probably best to list each region with its commonly accepted definition:

North America

Includes Canada, the United States, Mexico, Central America, and the islands of the Caribbean Sea. Sometimes excludes Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean.

Latin America

Usually includes the countries south of the United States, including all of South America.

Central America

Includes the countries south of Mexico to north of Colombia - Guatemala, Belize, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, and Panama. Sometimes includes the area of Mexico east of the Isthmus of Tehuantepec, such as the Yucatan Peninsula.

Middle America

Includes Mexico and Central America. Sometimes includes the islands of the Caribbean.

South America

Includes the countries of South America south of Panama but sometimes includes the portion of Panama south of the Isthmus of Panama.

Spanish America

Includes the countries settled by Spain or Spaniards and their descendants. This excludes Brazil but includes some Caribbean islands.

Anglo America

The United States and Canada.


Geography FAQ Home | Geography Home Page

Subscribe to the Newsletter

©2016 About.com. All rights reserved.