1. Education
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.
As of January 1, two new countries began using the euro as their primary currency - Cyprus and Malta. This brings the total number of euro countries to twenty.


January 20, 2008 at 12:41 pm
(1) Sammy says:

Sir, Not all of the 20 countries Use the Euro
the UK , Denmark and Sweden use thier National Currencies

January 20, 2008 at 9:22 pm
(2) Matt Rosenberg says:

Hi Sammy,

If you take a look at my list of euro countries, you will see that the ones you mention are not on that list.


August 21, 2008 at 12:55 pm
(3) John says:

Can you let me know what countries, if any, will be converting in 2009?

December 5, 2008 at 7:59 pm
(4) Zach says:

u guys have no lives. like, seriously.
get a life.
for the sake of humanity.

April 25, 2009 at 8:27 am
(5) Mariam says:

please can you tell me how many countries use Euro. Thank you

July 27, 2009 at 3:28 pm
(6) jude chukwma says:

current countries using euro

November 18, 2009 at 11:52 am
(7) Ray Travis says:

Sorry, but there are only 12 countries currently using the EURO….

January 13, 2010 at 7:05 am
(8) a says:

Actually, 24 use it. I live over here and many of you missed some of the smaller countries. This past year, (2008) Malta and Cyprus were added.

Currently using the Euro:
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, Netherland, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Spain.

April 20, 2010 at 3:59 pm
(9) Teodora says:

Bulgaria is not using the Euro! I am Bulgarian and I know it for sure :) . Romania is not using it either!

April 26, 2010 at 8:40 pm
(10) Anonymous says:

africa is in europe and asia is in australia.
common sense

January 26, 2011 at 10:14 am
(11) the man says:

you idiot.go back to school.you should be ashamed of yourself

October 10, 2010 at 6:14 pm
(12) russell says:

Montenegro has the euro as its official currency due to Germany supporting its banking sector to halt the massive inflation. The euro gave it that stability to recover though it happened with teh German mark originally supporting it. However Montenegro is not shown in teh eurozone on notes or coins

October 21, 2010 at 8:30 am
(13) Sven says:

1) Andorra
2) Austria
3) Belgium
4) Cyprus
5) Finland
6) France
7) Germany
8) Greece
9) Ireland
10) Italy
11) Kosovo
12) Luxembourg
13) Malta
14) Monaco
15) Montenegro
16) Netherlands
17) Portugal
18) San Marino
19) Slovakia
20) Slovenia
21) Spain
22) Vatican City

February 8, 2012 at 4:24 pm
(14) rexy says:

Hey, Matt you did know that 23 coutries use euro. This a not so good webste to be on.

February 8, 2012 at 5:17 pm
(15) Matt Rosenberg says:

Hey Rexy,

Did you realize that you were commenting on my blog entry from 2008 or did you follow the link from the article to see that my site is up to date with the 23 countries listed?


Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.